Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

BBMP vote denial: MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar to approach HC

  • MPs Rajeev Chandrasekhar and PC Mohan were denied the right to vote in the BBMP Council meeting on Wednesday
  • MP Chandrasekhar has decided to appeal the Supreme Court against unfair treatment by the Congress govt


BBMP vote denial MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar to approach HC
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp


MP Chandrasekhar, who was barred from voting for the Bengaluru Mayor and Deputy Mayor by the Regional Commissioner because he arrived late to the vote stated that he was only delayed thanks to an all-party meeting convened by the Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Cauvery issue.


“Members of Congress left the venue of the all-party meeting half way and did not even wait for Chief Minister’s final statement on the Cauvery issue. We were sitting through the meeting and left for the BBMP Council meeting after the meeting concluded as we thought the Cauvery water-sharing issue was important to the state,” he said.


The Rajya Sabha member said he would now approach the High Court against the barring.


Along with MP Chandrasekhar, MP PC Mohan was also denied voting rights as he too turned up late for the polling.


Padmanabhanagar MLA R Ashok urged the Regional Commissioner, Jayanthi, to allow them to vote at least in the poll for the post of Deputy Mayor. However, Jayanthi contended that since the elections for the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor were not separate, the two MPs could not vote.


Following this, BJP members, including MPs, MLCs, MLAs and councillors, walked out when the Regional Commissioner ruled that only those who were present in the Council when attendance was taken before the poll process began would be allowed to vote.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios