Nine new ministers are all set to be inducted into Narendra Modi’s Council of Ministers on Sunday, September 3. The ministers will be introduced today at 10.30 am at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi, in presence of President Ram Nath Kovind.

The list includes no one from the BJP's new ally the Janata Dal (United). New Defence and Railways ministers are expected to be appointed, whose names have not been released. Four ministers will be promoted to cabinet rank.

The Prime Minister met his new ministers for breakfast at 9 ahead of their oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan at 10:30 this morning, reported NDTV.

President Kovind too has tweeted about the swearing-in ceremony.

The new ministers are Shiv Pratap Shukla, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Virendra Kumar, Anantkumar Hegde, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Satya Pal Singh, and Alphons Kannanthanam.

 Shiv Pratap Shukla is a Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh and a member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Rural Development. Shukla served as a Cabinet minister in the Uttar Pradesh government for eight years, and is known for his work in rural development, education and prison reform during his tenure. He was also elected as a Member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly for four consecutive times in 1989, 1991, 1993 and 1996.

Ashwini Kumar Choubey is member of the Parliamentary Committee on Estimates and Standing Committee on Energy. He is also a member of Central Silk Board. He has been elected for five consecutive terms to the Bihar Legislative Assembly. He has held important portfolios including health, urban development and public health engineering as a Cabinet minister of the Government of Bihar for eight years.

Virendra Kumar is a Lok Sabha MP from Tikamgarh, Madhya Pradesh. He has had a distinguished career in Public Service as a 6 term Lok Sabha MP. Virendra Kumar has an MA in Economics and a PhD in Child Labour.

Alphons Kannanthanam is a 1979 batch IAS officer.  He pioneered the literacy movement in India by making Kottayam the first 100% literate town in India in 1989. As Commissioner DDA he demolished 14310 illegal buildings in Delhi. He is a Member of the BJP National Executive and was also featured in Time Magazine's list of 100 Young Global Leaders.

Anantkumar Hegde is a Lok Sabha MP from Uttara Kannada, Karnataka. He is a Member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on External Affairs and Human Resource Development. He is the Founder President of Kadamba, an NGO working in the field of rural development and welfare programmes.

Raj Kumar Singh, or RK Singh, is a 1975 batch Bihar cadre Indian Administrative Service officer and former Home Secretary of India. He had arrested LK Advani, a senior figure in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), in the capacity of district magistrate of Samastipur while Advani's Ram Rath Yatra was en route to Ayodhya in Uttar Pradesh from Somnath in Gujarat.

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat is a Lok Sabha MP from Jodhpur, Rajasthan. He is a Member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Finance and Chairperson of the Fellowship Committee. As a technology-savvy, progressive farmer; Gajendra Singh Shekhawat is a role model for the rural community. He has an MPhil & MA in Philosophy from Jai Narain Vyas University, Jodhpur.

Hardeep Singh Puri is a decorated former IFS officer of the 1974 batch. He is the President and Chairman of Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS) think tank, and was the Vice President of International Peace Institute, New York. Hardeep Singh Puri had also served as Chairman of the Counter-Terrorism Committee of the UN as well as President of the United Nations Security Council.

Satya Pal Singh is a Lok Sabha MP from Baghpat, Uttar Pradesh. He is a Member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Home Affairs and Chairperson of the Joint Committee on Offices of Profit. He is a distinguished former IPS officer of the 1980 batch, Maharashtra cadre, and has been recognized with medals like the Antrik Suraksha Sewa Padak a Special Service Medal.