At draw of stumps, India were 159 for 1 in their second innings which gave them an overall lead of 215. India had lost KL Rahul (38) before Murali Vijay (64) and Cheteshwar Pujara (50) scored briskly to put the hosts in command.


New Zealand had started the day at a strong 152 for one but lost four quick wickets in the morning session. Their last five batsmen were dismissed for just 24 runs in the second session as Indian spinners ruled the roost.


Read more: September 24, 2007: Where were you when India made history?


Jadeja (5 for 73) dismissed three batsmen in one over for a five-wicket haul while R Ashwin (4 for 93) grabbed four wickets as the Indians spun out New Zealand early into the second session of the day.


While the Kiwis struggled to negotiate spin on a deteriorating track, the Indians were hardly troubled in their second innings with Pujara and Vijay as they drove the ball comfortably.


The Kiwi bowlers toiled without success post tea as Vijay and Pujara raised an unbeaten 107-run stand for the second wicket, scoring all these runs in the last session.


Vijay's knock came off 152 balls with seven shots to the ropes and one over it while Pujara struck eight boundaries in his 80-ball stay so far.


Read more: Kohli vs. Williamson: The clash to watch out for in IND vs. NZ Test series


Pujara and Vijay had troubled the visitors with their resolute half-centuries in the first innings as well.


Leg-break bowler Ish Sodhi had Rahul caught at first slip in the fag end of the extended second session. The umpires called for the tea break, immediately after Rahul's wicket.


Read more: Road to 500 Tests: Team India's 10 memorable wins


Earlier in the day, Jadeja ran through the lower order in the post-lunch session. He dismissed Mark Craig (2), Ish Sodhi (0) and Trent Boult (0) and Ashwin closed the innings by catching BJ Watling (21) in his follow through as the Kiwis lost last five wickets for just 24 runs in 10.5 overs.


The Indian spinners had started the rot by taking three wickets in the space of 24 balls in the morning session when Ashwin removed both the overnight batsmen -- Tom Latham (58) and captain Kane Williamson (75) -- and Jadeja got rid of danger man Ross Taylor for a duck.