Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

WATCH: 10 bowlers who have claimed hat-trick in IPL

To date, 20 bowlers have claimed a hat-trick in the Indian Premier League. Meanwhile, we rank the top ten ones.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most competitive and most-watched global domestic Twenty20 (T20) tournament. Performance in this tournament earns both good recognition and reputation for any player, be it Indian or overseas.

To date, there are numerous records holders in the tournament, starting from centuries, wickets, sixes and many more. The competition has also witnessed quite a few bowlers claiming a hat-trick.

Catch all IPL 2021 updates here

To date, 20 bowlers have claimed an IPL hat-trick, with a couple doing it multiple times. Meanwhile, pacer Harshal Patel is the new man to enter the exclusive list, having attained the feat on Sunday night, playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Mumbai Indians (MI) and helping the side win by a monstrous 54 runs.

As we recall the other 19 hat-trick takers in the tournament, we present the ten of the best ones:
Lakshmipathy Balaji (CSK) vs PBKS (2008) - Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, VRV Singh.
Yuvraj Singh (PBKS) vs RCB (2009) - Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher.
Yuvraj Singh (PBKS) vs DEC (2009) - Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Y Venugopal Rao.
Amit Mishra (DEC) vs PBKS (2011) - Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh, Ryan Harris.
Ajit Chandila (RR) vs PWI (2012) - Jesse Ryder, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa.
Pravin Tambe (RR) vs KKR (2014) - Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate.
Shane Watson (RR) vs SRH (2014) - Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Karn Sharma.
Axar Patel (PBKS) vs GL (2016) - Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja.
Shreyas Gopal (RR) vs RCB (2019) - Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis.
Harshal Patel (RCB) vs MI (2021) - Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar.