Thiruvananthapuram: 42,500 buildings will have solar panels, as Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB) is set to tap solar energy from New Year onwards. KSEB has selected the buildings from 2,78,257 registered for the Soura programme.

Union ministry of new and renewable energy will distribute subsidy to establish solar power plants. The projects will be implemented under the Urja State Kerala Mission. The buildings chosen are houses, institution and shops. According to data, Thrissur tops the list with 7549 buildings ready for solar panels. The one with the least number of panels is Idukki district with 807 buildings. 

Electricity minister MM Mani said the first phase of the project would be completed by June 2019. The main aim of the project is to generate 200 MW of power. KSEB had started online registration of the program in July 2018 and closed it on January 31, 2019. 

A second phase of the project is aimed at generating 300 MW. It is expected to be completed by May 2021.