IPL 2020: MS Dhoni’s wife Sakshi slams Indian umpires after another controversy

First Published 23, Sep 2020, 11:33 AM

Sharjah: There was another umpiring controversy in IPL 2020 as Chennai Super Kings (CSK) captain MS Dhoni lost his cool during their match against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in Sharjah on Tuesday (September 22). Dhoni’s wife Sakshi too expressed her views and lashed out at the Indian umpires. However, she later deleted both her posts on Instagram and Twitter but screenshots are being shared on social media.

<p>It was a high scoring contest at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium and RR won by 16 runs to open their campaign on a high. Sanju Samson was their batting star with a 32-ball 74 with nine sixes and one four.</p>

It was a high scoring contest at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium and RR won by 16 runs to open their campaign on a high. Sanju Samson was their batting star with a 32-ball 74 with nine sixes and one four.

<p>The umpiring controversy erupted during RR’s batting innings. The on-field umpire C Shamshuddin ruled Tom Curran out caught by wicketkeeper Dhoni off Deepak Chahar in the 18th over.</p>

The umpiring controversy erupted during RR’s batting innings. The on-field umpire C Shamshuddin ruled Tom Curran out caught by wicketkeeper Dhoni off Deepak Chahar in the 18th over.

<p>It was a wrong decision as the ball had brushed the batsman’s pad and Dhoni had gathered the ball on one bounce. Dhoni and the bowler appealed and Shamshuddin raised his finger.</p>

It was a wrong decision as the ball had brushed the batsman’s pad and Dhoni had gathered the ball on one bounce. Dhoni and the bowler appealed and Shamshuddin raised his finger.

<p>Curran was looking to use the Decision Review System (DRS) but the only review for the team was used up earlier by Rahul Tewatia.</p>

Curran was looking to use the Decision Review System (DRS) but the only review for the team was used up earlier by Rahul Tewatia.

<p>Shamshuddin consulted square-leg umpire Vineet Kulkarni whether it was a clean catch and he said yes. However, replays showed that the ball had bounced and only then the on-field umpire went to the TV umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan.</p>

Shamshuddin consulted square-leg umpire Vineet Kulkarni whether it was a clean catch and he said yes. However, replays showed that the ball had bounced and only then the on-field umpire went to the TV umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan.

<p>The third umpire ruled it not out and Dhoni was furious with the verdict. However, in the end, the correct decision was made.</p>

The third umpire ruled it not out and Dhoni was furious with the verdict. However, in the end, the correct decision was made.

<p>On her Instagram and Twitter handles, Sakshi said umpiring needs to be improved in such a prestigious tournament. However, the posts were deleted later.</p>

On her Instagram and Twitter handles, Sakshi said umpiring needs to be improved in such a prestigious tournament. However, the posts were deleted later.

<p>“First time I have seen the third umpire is being referred after the player has been given out! Umpiring needs to be improved in such a prestigious tournament! Billions watching it! @iplt20,” she wrote on Instagram.</p>

“First time I have seen the third umpire is being referred after the player has been given out! Umpiring needs to be improved in such a prestigious tournament! Billions watching it! @iplt20,” she wrote on Instagram.

<p>On Twitter, she wrote, ““If u r using the technology, then use it the right way… out is out whether its catch out or lbw…”</p>

On Twitter, she wrote, ““If u r using the technology, then use it the right way… out is out whether its catch out or lbw…”

<p>Earlier, during Delhi Capitals (DC) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) match, umpire Nitin Menon wrongly ruled one short run against Chris Jordan. The game ended in a tie and DC won in Super Over.</p>

Earlier, during Delhi Capitals (DC) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) match, umpire Nitin Menon wrongly ruled one short run against Chris Jordan. The game ended in a tie and DC won in Super Over.

loader