Bengaluru: Rain continued to hound the Karnataka Premier League (KPL 2019) but it held off just long enough for Shivamogga Lions to post a seven-wicket win over Bengaluru Blasters at the M Chinnaswamy stadium on Tuesday (August 20).

Two rain stoppages meant the Lions were chasing a revised VJD target of 106 in 12 overs when play resumed at 9:45 pm. Nihal Ullal (33) and Arjun Hoysala (16) made short work of the total early on, but it was captain Abhimanyu Mithun’s four sixes that finished things off as the Lions’ skipper bludgeoned an unbeaten 34 runs from 13 balls to carry the visitors to 107 for 3 in 10.1 overs.

The win meant Lions now have three wins from as many games.

As a heavy downpour marked the end of the first match, it was clear that rain would hamper proceedings. The second game began on time but the players came off the field at 7:11 pm with the Blasters on 19/0 in 2.2 overs.

Play resumed at 7:35 pm and the Blasters rode on BR Sharath’s sprightly 42 and Rohan Kadam’s tetchy 25 to get to 114 for 3 in 16 overs before the second bout of rain came down at 8:42 pm.

Much to the delight of the home crowd, which has witnessed Bengaluru share points in both their previous contests, the rain dissipated and the players were back on the field with the Lions chasing a stiff total.

Lions, however, responded with heat as Ullal and Hoysala added 50 runs for the opening wicket in just 4.2 overs. Though, both the batsmen were sent back in quick succession, Lions saw a way out as Mithun and Nidish M (17 not out) completed formalities with a dash of style. 

Brief scores

Bengaluru Blasters 114/3 in 16 overs (BR Sharath 42, Rohan Kadam 25; Pavan Deshpande 2/12) lost to (revised total: 106 in 12 overs) Shivamogga Lions 107/3 in 10.1 overs (Nihal Ullal 33, Abhimanyu Mithun 34 not out; Anand Doddamani 2-20) by seven wickets.

Earlier in the day, Abhishek Reddy and CA Karthik built on a fine show from Prasiddh Krishna to guide Ballari Tuskers to a seven-wicket win over Bijapur Bulls.

Brief scores

Bijapur Bulls 162/7 in 20 overs (Bharath Chipli 50; Rajoo Bhatkal 62; Prasiddh Krishna 2/17, K Gowtham 3/33) lost to Ballari Tuskers 163/3 in 18.5 overs (Abhishek Reddy 62 not out, Karthik CA 57, Devdutt Padikkal 29) by seven wickets.