TTV Dhinakaran had tweeted that he will meet the media on August 23. Nineteen ministers loyal to the former AIADMK deputy general met Tamil Nadu Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao at Raj Bhavan to inform him of their lack of confidence in the EPS-OPS Government. But there’s more than what meets the eye.

Sources tell Asianet Newsable the nineteen ministers are only trying to create pressure on the new AIADMK government to ensure they are not neglected. The source says that the ministers may also want portfolios in the reconstituted government.

The ministers cannot withdraw support from a party unless it is a part of coalition government. And since AIADMK has a majority in the assembly these nineteen MLAs cannot withdraw support unless there is a legislature party meeting.

Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting, car and outdoor

The only other way is if the MLAs resign from AIADMK and join the opposition DMK or stay in the party and join hands with DMK to being in a no-confidence motion against the government in the assembly. DMK chief MK Stalin has already planned to move a no-confidence motion in the assembly. If the rebel MLAs does so, the government can fall.

On the other hand, the AIADMK too can disqualify the rebel MLAs. Even in that case, the government will fall. 
However, no member is willing to take the risk. This is because the rebel MLAs are not prepared for an election. The MLAs are not confident that they can garner enough support. 

And so the ministers are visiting the governor as a pressure tactic to gain a share in the new government or to obtain a ministerial berth.

The rebel MLAs are Senthil Balaji of Aravankurichi, Thangatamizh Chelvan of Andipatti, Palaniappan of Pappiredypetti, Rengasamy of Tanjaore, Chandiraprabha of Srivilliputhur, Subramaniam of Sathur, Kennedy Mariappan of Manamadurai, ST Jekkiappan of Cumbum, Sundararaj of Ottaipidaram, Thangadurai of Nilakottai, Kadhirkamu of Periyakulam, Vetrivel of Perambur, Dr Muthiah of Paramakudi, Elumalai of Poonamalle, Parthiban of Shollinganallur, Jayanthi Padmanabhan of Gudiyatham, Uma Maheshwari of Vilathikulam, Murugan of Arur and Balasubramaniam of Ambur.