Nineteen rebel AIADMK MLAs, all TTV Dhinakaran supporters, along with three independent MLAs met Tamil Nadu Governor Vidyasagar Rao at Raj Bhavan and had decided to withdraw their support from Chief Minister Edapaddi Palaniswami’s government.

The ministers visited the governor and submitted similar letters expressing their lack of confidence in the new AIADMK government. In a letter to the governor, a minister said that he was disillusioned with the functioning of the government headed by E Palaniswami and accused him of abusing his power.

The letter further stated that the appointment of O Panneerselvam as Deputy Chief Minister showed Palaniswami’s favouritism and abuse of power.

The letter further went on to state that the minister had no confidence on E Palaniswami and had withdrawn his support to the Chief Minister. The letter says that the writer has not given up his membership of AIADMK and merely doing his duty.

Reports suggest that ten more MLAs are likely to switch loyalties and join the Dinakaran camp. Fifteen of the nineteen MLAs have been shifted to two hotels in Puducherry after their meeting with the Governor.

With the unified AIADMK numbers already down to just 114 MLAs, three short of the majority mark, these defections will bring down their numbers further.