An official notification released by the Election Commission on April 24 has made it clear that the voters who have registered and who don't have voter identification cards with them, can use 12 different govt-issued and recognised identity cards to cast their votes on poll day. 

Addressing a press conference from Election commission office in Madikeri, Kodagu District Election Officer, Srividya, clarified and read out the list of identity cards which can be used during poll day. Passport, Driving licence, any photo Identity cards issued by Central and State government, Passbooks issued by post office and Banks with photo identities, Pan Card, MNREGA Card, Health cards with the photos issued by the labour department, Pension cards with photo identity, Voter slip issued by election commission, cards issued by MLAs, MLCs and MPs and Aadhar card - 12 identity cards can be used on May 12. 

According to the directions from the Election commission, there will be 10 poll booths in two different consistencies in the district. Each constituency will have 5 election booths. Women election officers and supporting staff will be deployed in pink booths of Madikeri constituency's Kadadagalu government high school, District cooperative societies, Kushalnagar Government Primary school, Blossom English School and St. Michael school. Virajpet's Sunkadkatte Community Hall, Telugu's Street Community Hall, St. Anne's High School, Panjarpet's Urdu school and Bittangala's Grama Panchayat office are the ones recognized and polling will be done in all these venues. 

2 polling booths have been designed for the differently-abled. Specially-abled election officers will be deployed in city's Taluk Panchayat office and Virajpet's Girls High school. 

17 candidates are contesting from 2 constituencies of Kodagu District. 11 candidates from Madikeri and 6 from Virajpet.