Karnataka election 2018: Siddaramaiah finalises his constituency - from Varuna to Chamundeshwari

First Published 22, Jan 2018, 4:12 PM IST
Karnataka election 2018 Siddaramaiah finalises his constituency from Varuna to Chamundeshwari
  • CM Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari Constituency
  • The Assembly Election will be held in Karnataka in May
  • It is likely that Dr Yathindra, son of Siddaramaiah, will contest from Varuna Constituency
  • Will this be the last election for Siddaramaiah?

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has announced the constituency he will contest the Assembly Election slated for May.

"I will contest from Chamundeshwari Constituency," said Siddaramaiah. He had earlier also said that this would be his last election. It can be noted that he had started his political career by contesting from the same constituency - Chamundeshwari - in 1983 reporesinting Bharatiya Lok Dal party.

However, for decades, Siddaramaiah has been contesting from Varuna Constituency in Mysuru. He was earlier preparing his son Rakesh to contest from Varuna. But Rakesh's untimely death made Siddaramaiah look at his elder son Dr Yathindra to contest from the Varuna Constituency.  However, there is no official confirmation in this regard yet.

Siddaramaiah declared his constitution to the media persons at Bagepalli.

Meanwhile, he lashed out at Yeddyurappa and HD Kumaraswamy for making false allegations against him.

Siddaramaiaah said that he was hopeful of getting more seats than required to form government in the forthcoming elections.