Chennai: Ahead of the first ODI against the West Indies, paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been ruled out of the entire three-match series due to an injury. Shardul Thakur has been named as his replacement.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Shardul Thakur as replacement for the injured Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the upcoming Paytm ODI series against West Indies,” the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in a media advisory on Friday night (December 13).

Also read: Mayank Agarwal replaces Shikhar Dhawan

“Bhuvneshwar complained of pain in his right groin after the final T20I (versus West Indies) in Mumbai on Wednesday (December 11). He underwent an ultrasound scan conducted by a specialist and the BCCI medical team found that his sportsman’s hernia symptoms have resurfaced. A specialist opinion will now be sought, and his management plan will be decided accordingly,” the BCCI added.

Also read: Virat Kohli delivers 'special gift' to Anushka Sharma

India won the third T20I at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium to seal the series 2-1. Bhuvneshwar took two wickets for 41 runs in four overs as India won by 67 runs after posting a mammoth 240/3 in 20 overs.

This is the second injury concern for India ahead of the ODI rubber. Earlier, Mayank Agarwal had replaced Shikhar Dhawan.

Also read: 'Dressing room feels empty without you', KL Rahul tells Hardik Pandya

The 28-year-old Thakur has played one Test, five ODIs and seven T20Is for India. He made his ODI debut against Sri Lanka in 2017. The right-arm bowler’s last ODI appearance was more than a year ago when he played against Hong Kong in September 2018.

The first of the three ODIs against the Caribbean side will be played on Sunday (December 15) in Chennai.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shivam Dube, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.