Asianet Newsable

India fined by ICC after historic 5-0 series win in New Zealand

For the second successive time in the five-T20I series, India were fined by the ICC. India had completed a 5-0 series win in New Zealand

India fined by ICC after historic 5-0 series win in New Zealand
Mount Maunganui, First Published Feb 3, 2020, 5:37 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Mount Maunganui: India have been fined 20% of their match fee for maintaining a slow over-rate against New Zealand in the fifth and final Twenty20 International in Tauranga on Sunday (February 2), the International Cricket Council (ICC) said. This was for the second successive time that India had been fined for slow over-rate offence during the series.

India completed a historic 5-0 whitewash over the Kiwis. Rohit Sharma led the side after Virat Kohli was rested. However, he was injured during batting and KL Rahul took charge of the team during New Zealand innings.

Also read: Rohit Sharma out of New Zealand tour

Chris Broad of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanction after Rohit’s side was ruled to be one over short of the target after time allowances were taken into consideration.

In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offences, players are fined 20% of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time.

Also read: India fined after Super Over win

Rohit pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing. On-field umpires Chris Brown and Shaun Haig, and third umpire Ashley Mehrotra leveled the charge.

India and New Zealand will now be involved in three ODIs and two Tests. The opening ODI is on February 5 in Hamilton.

India vs New Zealand fixtures

ODIs (All matches start at 7.30 AM IST)

1st ODI (February 5) - Hamilton

2nd ODI (February 8) - Auckland

3rd ODI (February 11) - Mount Maunganui

Tests (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios