Asianet Newsable

India vs New Zealand: Virat Kohli and Co fined after Super Over win in 4th T20I

India clinched another Super Over win over New Zealand in Wellington. Later, Virat Kohli and Co were handed a fine by the match referee

India vs New Zealand Virat Kohli and Co fined after Super Over win 4th T20I
Wellington, First Published Feb 1, 2020, 3:49 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Wellington: India have been fined 40% of their match fee for maintaining a slow over-rate against New Zealand in the fourth Twenty20 International in Wellington on Friday (January 31).

Chris Broad of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanctions after Virat Kohli’s  side was ruled to be two overs short of the target after time allowances were taken into consideration.

Also read: India take another Super Over win

In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offences, players are fined 20 per cent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time.

Kohli pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing. On-field umpires Chris Brown and Shaun Haig, and third umpire Ashley Mehrotra levelled the charges.

Also read: It's India-Pakistan semis in U-19 World Cup

India took a 4-0 lead in the series after clinching another Super Over victory. The fifth and final T20I is tomorrow (February 2). After this both teams will be involved in three ODIs and two Tests.

India tour of New Zealand schedule

T20Is (All matches start at 12.30 PM IST)

1st T20I (January 24) – Auckland – India won

2nd T20I (January 26) – Auckland – India won

3rd T20I (January 29) – Hamilton – India won in Super Over

4th T20I (January 31) – Wellington – India won in Super Over

5th T20I (February 2) - Mount Maunganui

ODIs (All matches start at 7.30 AM IST)

1st ODI (February 5) - Hamilton

2nd ODI (February 8) - Auckland

3rd ODI (February 11) - Mount Maunganui

Tests (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios