Asianet News English

ICC Women’s World Cup 2021: Host cities confirmed for tournament in New Zealand

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the six cities that will host the Women's World Cup 2021 in New Zealand. The venues were confirmed at an event in Auckland

ICC Women World Cup 2021 host cities confirmed New Zealand
Auckland, First Published Jan 23, 2020, 3:21 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Auckland: The six cities for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand early next year, were confirmed on Thursday (January 23).

Auckland will host a bumper opening weekend at Eden Park, before the focus shifts to matches in Wellington, Hamilton, Tauranga, Dunedin and Christchurch.

The tournament, which features 31 matches played between February 6 and March 7, will be capped by a spectacular final in Christchurch under lights at Hagley Oval. Hamilton and Tauranga will host the semi-finals. New Zealand will play at all venues including Dunedin and Wellington.

Today’s announcement at Auckland’s Kohimarama Beach was followed by a game of beach cricket featuring Indian’s global cricketing superstar Mithali Raj; newly appointed White Ferns captain Sophie Devine and teammates Suzie Bates and Amelia Kerr, Blackcaps Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls and 2000 World Cup winners Emily Drumm and Rebecca Rolls.

Following the consents being granted for the installation of lights at Hagley Oval for the final late last year, the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup final has been allocated to Christchurch. Ongoing monitoring is in place to ensure the lights are in place for the February event.

Newly appointed White Ferns captain Sophie Devine said the chance to contest a World Cup on home soil was an incredible opportunity.

India’s veteran global superstar Mithali Raj – who recently announced her retirement from the T20 format to focus on ODI matches – was also on hand for the host city announcements.

“Playing for your country is always a special feeling and we’re all very excited to play in the beautiful country of New Zealand,” Mithali  said.

“Women’s cricket is slowly getting access to centre stage so it’s important that we continue to grow this interest around the world,” she added.

The full match schedule will be announced when the event is officially launched in March. 

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 at a glance

Hosted in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021

Eight nations

31 matches

6 host cities: Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Tauranga, Christchurch, Dunedin

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios