Andhra BJP unsure about alliance with TDP in 2019 elections

First Published 14, Sep 2017, 6:00 PM IST
Andhra BJP unsure about alliance with TDP in 2019 elections
  • After the Kakinada municipal elections, BJP is vary about its tie-up with TDP
  • Though TDP had allotted 9 wards to BJP in Kakinada, TDP's rebel candidates stood against BJP. BJP could win only 3 wards
  • BJP is worried about its position if the same game plan is applied in the 2019 general elections

The BJP in Andhra Pradesh feels that the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is hindering the growth of the saffron party in the state.

While TDP is allotting seats to its ally BJP, the doubt that it is also putting up rebel candidates against them has troubled the relations. Also, the TDP publicly stating that the BJP doesn’t win many seats has not gone down well among the BJP cadre.

The BJP leaders discussed this issue at large at the party working committee meeting in Ongole on Tuesday. They argued that the TDP would use same game plan in the 2019 elections too, stating that since BJP can’t win many seats, it would be not be a good idea to allot them many seats.

AP Chief Minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu’s promise that the TDP will win all 175 seats in the elections and IT Minister Nara Lokesh taking these words to each place seem objectionable to the BJP. They plan to take this issue to the Central leadership.

Kakinada election strategy was also discussed at the meeting and they shared the view that it might not be feasible to have an alliance with the TDP in 2019. In the last three years the BJP-TDP ties have not strengthened ,and the TDP leaders at district levels have shunned BJP leaders.

The state-level working committee meeting was attended by state BJP chairman Kambhampati Hari Babu, national joint general secretary V Satish, state ministers Kamineni Srinivas, P Manikyala Rao, former Union minister Daggupati Purandeswari, MP G Gangaraju, MLCs Somu Veerraju, Satyanarayana, Madhava, MLAs Vishnu Kumar Raju, Akula Satyanarayana, state party leaders Kanna Lakshmi Narayana, Kavuri Sambhasiva Rao, Prakasam district party chairman, PV Krishna Reddy and 13 districts party chairmen and general secretaries.