Asianet News English

Jharkhand election results 2019: JMM-led alliance to form govt in 2-3 days

Speaking to reporters, the younger brother of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's (JMM) Hemant Soren, Basant Soren said that the JMM-led alliance would form government in two-three days

Jharkhand election results 2019: JMM-led alliance to form govt in 2-3 days
Jharkhand, First Published Dec 24, 2019, 9:10 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Dumka: A day after the outstanding victory of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's (JMM) Hemant Soren from Dumka and Barhait in the Jharkhand Assembly elections, his younger brother Basant Soren on Tuesday (December 24) said that JMM-led alliance would form government in two-three days.

"As people's mandate is with us, we are forming government in 2-3 days," Basant told media reporters in Dumka.

On being asked if the government would be formed by the opposition alliance similar to Maharashtra, he said, "Maharashtra scenario was completely different from here."

Lambasting at the former BJP government led by Raghubar Das in the state, he said, "People had decided what they have thought. Citizens had decided to remove the corrupted and arrogant government. They (BJP) do development by just saying and promising, and we bring development by working on the ground."

Also read: Jharkhand election results 2019: BJP falls short of forming government

He further said that if the party asks him to contest elections in the near future, then he will surely fight.

"Basant Soren is here with you all. With the public. In future, if leadership wants me to contest the election, then I will surely fight," Basant replied on being asked about his role in the party.

Hemant Soren won by a margin of 13,188 votes from the Dumka seat and in the Barhait Assembly constituency, with a margin of 25,740 votes.

The probable chief minister candidate from the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance has defeated BJP's Simon Malto from the Barhait seat while on the Dumka seat he once again defeated BJP's incumbent candidate Lois Marandi.

JMM-led alliance, which includes Congress and RJD, on December 23 won with an absolute majority in the Jharkhand elections by bagging 47 seats in the 81-member assembly. The alliance defeated the BJP which won 25 seats.

Here is the final party tally declared by the Election Commission.

JMM - 30 seats, Congress 16, RJD one, BJP 25, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) three, AJSU two, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) one, NCP one and independents two.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios