The Jharkhand Assembly election results will be announced on December 23. The 81-member Jharkhand Assembly election was held in five phases between November 30 and December 20. 

According to the exit polls, the results have predicted a seat share of 22-32 for the BJP, 3-5 for the AJSU, 38-50 for JMM and Cong+, 2-4 for the JVM, 4-7 for the Others.

Jharkhand has a total of 81 seats, with a half-way mark of 41. The BJP has projected incumbent CM Raghubar Das as the CM candidate while the opposition has projected Hemant Soren as its candidate.  

Also read: Jharkhand Assembly polls: Fourth phase of polling begins in 15 Assembly seats

The results will also decide the fate of former chief minister and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren, who is contesting from two seats. Soren is up against BJP’s Louis Marandi from Dumka and Simon Malto from Barhait.

The hot seat, which will be the centre of attraction on the counting day will be Jamshedpur East. Chief minister Raghubar Das has been winning this seat since 1995. He is pitted against ex-cabinet colleague Saryu Rai. Saryu Rai turned rebel after his ticket was put on hold by the party.

In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, and its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats.

According to the Election Commission, the approximate voter turnout for all 81 ACs across all phases of Jharkhand is 65.17%, which is less than the final voter turnout of 66.53% registered in the 2014 election.