Asianet News English

On this day in 2007 Team India won the first T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup was first introduced in the year 2007. In the first ever tournament, India beat Pakistan by five runs to lift the T20 World Cup. Here is looking back at the moment that made India proud 12 years ago.


On this day in 2007 Team India won the first T20 World Cup
Bengaluru, First Published Sep 24, 2019, 4:03 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Team India was crowned world champions in the first ever World Cup of the T20 tournament in the year 2007. It has been 12 years since, let's take a glimpse into the winning moment of the stellar performance of Indian T20 cricket team, led by MS Dhoni.

The BCCI shared a video of the winning moment of this match captioning it as: "This day, in 2007,TeamIndia were crowned World T20 Champions."


In the final match of T20 World Cup, India was facing arch rival Pakistan in the finals. India won the toss and opted to bat. The team scored 157/5 in 20 overs, thanks to Gautam Gambhir's impressive 75 runs.

Pakistan lost wickets before any player could stand the ground. Misbah-ul-Haq who came in as the middle order batsman was trying to chase the runs. In the final over, Pakistan had only one wicket left but needed 13 runs.

Dhoni called in Joginder Sharma to bowl the last over. Joginder aimed at Misbah who tried to play the scoop shot over short-fine leg, but Sreesanth made no mistake in ending the match by taking the last catch of the match.

Thus, India lifted the first T20 World Cup by defeating Pakistan by 5 runs. The match was held on September 24 at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.


Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios