Asianet Newsable

India vs West Indies: Shreyas Iyer explains how he changed his batting

Shreyas Iyer spoke to the media ahead of the series-deciding 3rd ODI between India and West Indies in Cuttack

India vs West Indies Shreyas Iyer explains how he changed his batting
Cuttack, First Published Dec 21, 2019, 4:38 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Cuttack: India’s middle order batsman Shreyas Iyer on Saturday (December 21) said he has changed his approach to his batting and now takes more responsibility according to the demands of the team.

Iyer, who scored half centuries in the opening two One Day International against West Indies, spoke to the media ahead of the series-decider in Cuttack. The three-match rubber is level at 1-1 after the Virat Kohli-led bounced back in Visakhapatnam. The hosts had lost the opener in Chennai.

Also read: Full list of players sold at IPL 2020 auction

The 25-year-old Iyer said responsibility comes with maturity. “I think that comes with maturity and responsibility. I was a flamboyant player when I started playing first-class cricket. I never used to take responsibility. I just used to back my instincts and go with the flow,” the right-hander from Mumbai said.

“Lately, I've realised that once you play at the highest level, you got to take that maturity to another stage. I can even play strokes and I can even nudge the ball and take single, so I know my game really well right now and I can play accordingly,” Iyer, who scored 70 in Chennai and 53 in Visakhapatnam, added.

Also read: Rahul Dravid's son Samit scores 295 runs in 1 match

On India’s approach in the series finale, he said, “The previous game was also a do-or-die match. If we had lost that match, we would have lost the series. So, we will play with the same mindset.”

Iyer has so far played 11 ODIs and 14 T20Is for India. He has scored six ODI fifties and one T20I half century.


India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Shradul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shivam Dube, Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey and Navdeep Saini.

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph, Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Sunil Ambris, Brandon King, Romario Shepherd and Hayden Walsh.

Match starts 1.30 pm IST

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios