HD Kumaraswamy is all set to take oath as the 25th Chief Minister of Karnataka with the help of support from the Congress. This alliance is just a trailer for something big being planned for later, say reports. Is Kumaraswamy's father, JD(S) Supremo and former Prime Minister Deve Gowda planning big with this?

The rise of the third front might not be a surprising one when looked at how various state leaders, where BJP is not in power have welcomed the alliance of JD(S) and Congress in Karnataka. Even the list of dignitaries attending Kumaraswamy's oath taking is a hint at the rise of the third front.

Let us have a look at the list of leaders taking part in the oath taking ceremony of Kumaraswamy as the Karnataka Chief Minister: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, BSP chief Mayawati, WB CM Mamta Banerjee, Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, Former UP CM Akhilesh Yadav, RJD's Tejaswi Yadav (son of Lalu Prasad Yadav), Founder of Rashtriya Lok Dal Ajit Singh (ex Union Minister), AICC President Rahul Gandhi and AICC former chief Sonia Gandhi, etc. Moreover, DMK Working President MK Stalin and actor/politician Kamal Haasan cancelled his visit due to golibar on the farmers and tension that has risen in Tamil Nadu's Thoothukudi over the Sterlite protest. Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao met Deve Gowda at his residence on May 22.

Thus, looking at this list, there are all chances that a third front is brewing, but the question is if Deve Gowda by bringing everyone together, is trying to play the king in the third front than being the kingmaker?

Will his name be touted for the post of next Prime Minister, as no one has any quarrels with him, from the third front in the 2019 elections? Will this be the invitation for Deve Gowda's second stint as the PM?

Deve Gowda was chosen as the Prime Minister from the United Front after 1996 elections. He has led the 13-party United Front including Janata Dal, Samajwadi Party, DMK, TDP, AGP, All India Indira Congress (Tiwari), 4 Left Front parties), Tamil Maanila Congress, National Conference, and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party from 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997 as the Prime Minister.