As the Karnataka Assembly Elections finally come to a close after a dramatic finish. The struggle for the saffron party does not just end here. The assembly elections will be followed by as much as 9 by-elections, which is due to a frantic move by all the three parties which saw members of Legislative Council and the Parliament resign from office with aspirations to contest, as we saw many of them winning this election. 


This includes Chief Minister designate H D Kumarswamy who had resigned from Ramanagara and won his contested seat from Channapatna. Similarly, another heavyweight and leader of opposition in the house, E S Eshwarappa who had also won from Shivamogga city in the Assembly Elections this year, had resigned from his MLC post prior to the election. 


This will have the biggest impact again on the Bharatiya Janata Party, as they will have to replace 5 big names with the Congress and JD(S) having to replace two candidates each. The other names from the BJP include V Somanna and Basavaraj Patil Yatnal. While Bellari was represented by B Sriramula, Shivamogga was represented by BJP Chief Ministerial candidate, B S Yeddyurappa. 

The JD(S) will have its own share of troubles coming its way as well, with H D Kumaraswamy winning both his Ramanagara and Channapatna seat and Mandya MP C Puttaraju, who had to resign from their MP seats for the elections. 


As for the Congress, they have shown week numbers in the Lower House and this has been replicated in the Upper House as well. Byrathi S Suresh and Mahantesh Shivanand Koujalgi will have to look for new faces for the party for their constituencies, as these MLCs had resigned in order in order to stand for this Assembly Election.