The election to the mayor's post of Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) witnessed high drama. After the hiatus, Congress and JD(S) coalition won the mayor and deputy mayor's post. But BJP boycotted the election and staged a walked out.

Thus now Gangambika Mallikarjun of Congress is elected unopposed to the post of BBMP mayor and Rameela Umashankar of JD(S) has been elected as the deputy mayor.

A total of 253 members took part in the election. The winner had to get 127 votes. Congress had 121 and with the help of JD(S), the party gained victory. BJP had 123 members and needed four to win the mayoral elections.

Gangambika has become the 51st mayor of BBMP. She got 130 votes and Rameela secured 129 votes, winning them the respected posts.

Meanwhile, Congress has also alleged that the BJP had hijacked two independents to their side but, BJP has clearly refuted these charges.

A silver key and a silver baton were handed over to Gangambika by the previous mayor Sampath Raj. Speaking to Suvarna News, Gangambika said that her preference is development of Bengaluru and she promised to work on making the city garbage-free.

Thus Congress and JD(S) members have won the mayor and deputy mayor election consecutively for the fourth time.

Ex-mayor Sampath Raj took his staff including his driver for lunch at popular MTR hotel in the city on the last day of his office.