BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa has taken oath as the 24th Chief Minister of Karnataka. The oath taking was conducted at Raj Bhavan around 9 AM after Governor Vajubhai Vala invited him to form the government, last night. The oath was administered by the governor and Yeddyurappa took the oath in the name of God and farmers.

Yeddyurappa is the MLA from Shikaripura and has become the CM for the third time. He has 15 days to prove his majority as the BJP has won 104 seats in the Assembly election, but the number needed to prove simple majority is 112.

It can also be remembered that Yeddyurappa had even booked the Kantheerava Stadium in Bengaluru for his oath taking ceremony, much before the results were announced.

Meanwhile, Congress and JD(S) leaders are heading towards Gandhi Statue in front of Vidhana Soudha against Governor's decision to invite Yeddyurappa, despite Congress and JD(S) giving the proof of the support of 117 MLAs, which is more than the simple majority.

Soon after Governor Vajubhai Vala invited Yeddyurappa to form the government, Congress knocked the doors of  the Supreme Court to bring a stay on the same. However, court refused to do so and further hearing will be held at 10.30 AM today.

"As far as swearing-in is concerned, we are not restraining it, but we are making it subject to the outcome of the case," a three-judge bench, comprising Justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan, said. The hearing continued for three-and-a-half hours, reported NDTV.

It is said that the court has asked Yeddyurappa to provide the list of supporters, which he has produced to the Government seeking invitation to form the government.

Karnataka witnessed a hung assembly, when BJP got 104 seats, Congress won 78 and JD(S) won 38. Two seats were won by the independents, who have extended their support to Congress-JD(S) alliance.