Asianet News English

Rajasthan political crisis: Sachin Pilot moves high court to challenge disqualification notice

MLAs of Sachin Pilot camp filed a plea in Rajasthan high court challenging the Speaker's disqualification notice to 18 MLAs and Sachin Pilot himself.

Rajasthan political crisis: Sachin Pilot moves high court to challenge disqualification notice
Jaipur, First Published Jul 16, 2020, 1:53 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Jaipur: Rebel Congress leader Sachin Pilot and his 18 supporter MLAs have moved Rajasthan high court against Speaker CP Joshi's disqualification notice.

The case is set for hearing at 3 pm today (July 16). Speaker is under the influence of Ashok Gehlot, stated Pilot's petition.

Speaker Joshi had issued notices after the party sought their disqualification from the state assembly for not attending the Congress Legislature Party meeting held on Monday and Tuesday.

Sachin Pilot and the other rebel MLAs were asked to respond to the notices by Friday (July 17), sources said.

The Congress had cracked down on Sachin Pilot, stripping the dissident leader of the posts of Rajasthan's deputy chief minister and the party's state unit president and sacking two loyalists from the state Cabinet.

Meanwhile, sources have said Rahul Gandhi is also making efforts to placate Sachin Pilot and have asked Congress members to reach out to him. Also, the party has asked Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot to refrain from attacking Sachin Pilot publicly with statements in the media.

Ashok Gehlot on Wednesday took a jibe at his former deputy, saying that “Speaking good English or being handsome is not everything”.

Gehlot also accused Pilot, who was the former state Congress president, of being involved in horse-trading with the BJP to topple his government.

“Speaking good English, giving good bytes and being handsome is not everything. What do you have in your heart, what commitment do you have, this all is seen,” Gehlot said, without mentioning Pilot by his name.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios