Bengaluru: Due to spreading of COVID-19, after Rajasthan, Delhi, Odisha, Haryana, and Delhi the Karnataka government has banned bursting of firecrackers this Deepavali.

Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa on Friday announced that the state government has banned bursting of firecrackers this Deepavali and orders will be issued on the matter soon.

After holding consultations with officials of the Health and Family Welfare Department, the State government made a formal announcement of banning bursting of firecrackers.

Many states of north India have banned bursting of firecrackers citing twin problems of COVID-19 and air pollution.

The National Green Tribunal (NGT) on Thursday reserved its orders regarding pollution caused using firecrackers beyond the National Capital Region (NCR) of Delhi and issued notices to 18 states and Union Territories, including Karnataka.

Also read: A day after Karnataka government surges power tariff, BWSSB hikes water tariff by 12%

The green panel has sought response from Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

Manufacturers of firecrackers are expected to oppose the government’s decision and they are likely to meet the Chief Minister seeking repealing the ban in this festival season since they have already produced a huge quantity of firecrackers.