The 10 states that went to bypolls include Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Haryana, Karnataka, Manipur, Nagaland, Odisha, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. Of 10 states, the BJP has won in Telangana and Karnataka while gaining a lead in other states.

Manipur – 4 - The BJP won three Assembly seats in Manipur – Singhat and Wangoi and Wangjing Tentha while an Independent candidate Y Antas Khan bagged one seat – Lilong.

Chhattisgarh – 1 – Congress clinched victory in Chhattisgarh in its lone seat KK Dhruw defeated BJP candidate Gambheer Singh.

Jharkhand – 2 - JMM's Basant Soren and Congress candidate Kumar Jaimangal won from Dumka and Bermo seat.

Haryana – 1 - Congress candidate Indu Raj Narwal has defeated BJP's Yogeshwar Dutt from Baroda Assembly seat in Haryana's Sonipat district. Dutt, an Olympic wrestler, had joined the saffron party in September last year. Narwal defeated Dutt by a margin of 10,028 votes.

Nagaland - 2 - Independent candidates were leading in bypolls to Southern Angami I and Pungro Kiphire seats in Nagaland won comfortably.

Odisha – 2 - Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik's party BJD won in both Assembly seats in the state - Balasore and Tirtol.

Telangana – 1 - Bharatiya Janata Party's Madhavaneni Raghunandan clinched victory with over 2,000 votes in Telangana’s lone seat Dubbak.

Karnataka – 1 - The saffron party won two seats in Karnataka bypolls with Muniratna and Rajesh Gowda claiming victory with a comfortable margin.

Gujarat – 8 - BJP has won all the eight seats that were in the fray in Gujarat bypolls. Interacting with media in Gandhinagar, Chief Minister Vijay Rupani said his party's performance was a trailer for the upcoming elections to local bodies and the 2022 assembly polls.

Rupani said voters had rejected the "negative campaign and activities" of the Congress.

"Today BJP has emerged victorious across the country, whether it is Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh or Gujarat. This outcome is the result of the work done by Narendra Modi government and the support of people for the BJP," Rupani said.

Uttar Pradesh – 7 - BJP wins 6 and Samajwadi Party wins 1 seat in Uttar Pradesh bypolls. Polling was held on 7 seats. Praising Narendra Modi, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said that under the PM's guidance the saffron party has performed exceptionally well in the Bihar elections and the by-polls across India.  

The Samajwadi Party on Tuesday retained the Malhani assembly seat with its nominee Lucky Yadav defeating Independent candidate Dhananjaya Singh by a margin of 4,632 votes. The bypolls to the seat were necessitated due to the death of sitting party MLA Parasnath Yadav.

Madhya Pradesh – 28 - The BJP, which is leading in at least 19 of the 28 bye-election seats in Madhya Pradesh, appears to be in a comfortable position to retain power in the state. The party has also won two seats–Suwasra and Mandhata. The Congress is currently leading in seven seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is leading in one seat.