Patna: With the NDA clinching a 125-seat victory in the Bihar elections, the coalition has decided to make Nitish Kumar the state's chief minister again, for what will be his fourth consecutive term.

A decision on whether Nitish Kumar would get another term as Bihar's Chief Minister was taken today after a legislators' meeting of the National Democratic Alliance, which won majority in the recently concluded assembly elections in the state.

This was decided at an “informal” meeting of the NDA leaders from four constituent parties — JD(U), BJP, HAM(S) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) — at Nitish’s residence on Friday. The meeting took place after Nitish handed over the resignation of his ministry to Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan and recommendation to dissolve the state assembly.

“We decided to convene a meeting of elected legislators of all the four partners on November 15 at 12.30 pm. All decisions will be taken in that meeting. After the meeting and election of the NDA leader, we will stake claim to form the government,” Nitish Kumar had told reporters.

"Things will be discussed in detail (at the legislature party meeting) and all decisions will be taken at that time," Kumar had told reporters on Friday after a meeting of NDA leaders at his residence on Friday.

Hours before the NDA meet, newly elected BJP legislators had a meeting with state party chief Sanjay Jaiswal in Patna.

Taking a swipe at Nitish Kumar, RJD leader Manoj Jha said the people’s mandate was against him. “How can someone become Chief Minister after getting 40 seats? People’s mandate is against him, he is decimated and should decide on it. Bihar will find its alternative, which will be spontaneous. It might take a week, ten days, or a month but it will happen,” ANI quoted Jha as saying.

The NDA won 125 seats in the 243-member Bihar assembly against 110 clinched by the opposition Grand Alliance. Even though BJP emerged as the dominant partner in the NDA in Bihar, winning 74 seats to ally JD(U)’s 43, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had put to rest all speculation over who would lead the government, saying “every BJP and NDA worker will ensure that our pledge for the state is fulfilled under the leadership of Nitish Kumar”.

The JD(U)’s tally of 43 this time, down from 71, is its worst performance since the 2005 Assembly polls.