Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

BCCI turns down Yuvraj Singh's request to come out of retirement: Reports

Yuvraj Singh is one of the prolific batsmen for Team India. He holds the record for hitting six sixes in an over of a T20I besides helping India win the 2002 NatWest ODI title in England and the 2011 ICC World Cup. He had announced his retirement from cricket in 2019.

Yuvraj Singh denied post-retirement comeback by BCCI: Reports-ayh
Chandigarh, First Published Dec 29, 2020, 8:24 AM IST

Former Indian swashbuckling batsman, Yuvraj Singh's return to professional cricket post retirement has hit a roadblock. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has reportedly turned down his request for a return.

It was a few months back when Yuvraj had written a letter to the BCCI and its president, Sourav Ganguly, asking permission to return to the sport, as reported by Times of India. However, according to a new report by Hindustan Times, his request has been turned down by BCCI, for reasons unknown.

Yuvraj was looking to make a comeback to professional cricket, following his retirement in June last year. He was aiming to play for Punjab in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy this season, that starts from January 10.

Yuvraj's career has been an illustrious one, having played over 400 international matches and scoring over 11,000 runs. He also holds the record of hitting six sixes in an over of a Twenty20 International (T20I), while he also played a pivotal role in India's success, of twin ICC World Cup wins and the 2002 Natwest ODI title in England.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli is ICC Cricketer of the Decade, MS Dhoni wins Spirit of Cricket Award

As for Punjab, the side would now be led by Mandeep Singh, who is coming off a decent stint in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He scored 130 runs in seven games, at an average of 21.66, including a half-century.

Meanwhile, Punjab has also roped in Manpreet Singh Gony as its bowling coach, while Munish Bali would coach the side. Punjab kicks off its campaign against Uttar Pradesh in Alur.

Punjab squad: Mandeep Singh (c), Gurkeerat Mann (vc), Abhishek Sharma, Ramandeep Singh, Siddharth Kaul, Barinder Sran, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Baltej Dhanda, Krishan, Gitansh Khera, Rohan Marwaha, Abhinav Sharma, Prabhsimran Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Anmol Malhotra, Sanvir Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Karan Kaila and Mayank Markande.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios