Asianet News English

IPL 2021: Kane Williamson's impressive 66 in vain as DC edges past SRH through Super Over

The current Indian Premier League is the 14th edition of the gainful Twenty20 league. Sunrisers Hyderabad is a former champion, having won in 2016 under David Warner. Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals is yet to win the title, having finished as runner-up last season.

IPL 2021, Match 20: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals (SRH vs DC) report-ayh
Chennai, First Published Apr 25, 2021, 9:23 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Delhi Capitals managed to hold its nerves and edge past former champion Sunrisers Hyderabad in a Super Over finish, in Match 20 of the 2021 Indian Premier League, at the MA Chidambaram (Chepauk) Stadium, in Chennai, on Sunday. After opener Prithvi Shaw's 53 for DC, SRH's Kane Williamson struck an unbeaten 66 to help the side finish on levelled scores before DC edged out in a thrilling Super Over finish.

Winning the toss, DC skipper Rishabh Pant elected to bat first on a slow Chennai track, besides making a change, bringing in Axar Patel for Lalit Yadav. As for SRH skipper David Warner, he too made a change, with spinner Jagadeesha Suchith replacing seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The DC openers were off to an explosive start, with Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan contributing 81 runs. It was in the 11th over when the first breakthrough for SRH came in the form of Dhawan, who fell for 28 to spinner Rashid Khan after being knocked over.

LIVE SCORECARD: IPL 2021, Match 20: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals (SRH vs DC)

Just after his dismissal, Shaw brought up his eighth IPL half-century. However, at 84, in the 12th over, he fell for 53 off an unfortunate run out.

Nevertheless, the pair of Pant and Smith accelerated the innings and contributed to a fine 58-run stand for the third wicket before the former fell for 37 to pacer Siddarth Kaulin the 19th over. Just three runs later, Shimron Hetmyer was dismissed off the same man in the same over for a mere single. However, Smith stayed unbeaten, along with Marcus Stoinis (2*), to help DC finish on 159/4

As for SRH, six bowlers tried their hands at the DC batsmen. While Kaul had the most success, Suchith was the most economical of the lot.

As SRH came out for the chase, it was off to a shaky start, losing a couple of wickets within the powerplay, in the form of opener Warner (6) and Jonny Bairstow (38), while the score read 56/2 at the end of the sixth over. As Kane Williamson came in, along with Virat Singh, the pair added 28 more before the latter was dismissed by pacer Avesh Khan in the 12th over.

As all-rounder Kedar Jadhav came in, he departed just 20 runs later, for a mere nine after being stumped off spinner Amit Mishra. Nevertheless, Williamson scored his 16th IPL half-century soon after as at 117, in the 17th over, spinner Patel got rid of Abhishek Sharma (5) and Rashid Khan (0).

All-rounder Vijay Shankar came in to join Williamson, but just 19 runs later, he departed for a mere eight to Avesh. As pacer Kagiso Rabada bowled the final over, he managed to hold his nerves and take the game to a Super Over, thanks to the levelled scores.

SRH batted first in the Super Over, as Warner and Williamson scored 8/0 off Patel's bowling. In reply, DC's Dhawan and Pant could counter Rashid's spin and win it off the final ball.

For DC, six bowlers came into play. Meanwhile, Avesh turned out to be the most successful and economical of all.
Brief scores: DC 159/4 (Shaw-53, Pant- 37, Smith- 34*; Kaul- 2/331) ties SRH 159/7 (Bairstow- 38, Williamson- 66*; Avesh- 3/34). DC WON VIA SUPER OVER.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitise, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios