Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

ICC World T20 2021: New Zealand announces squad, Ross Taylor misses out

The ICC World T20 2021 would be played from October. Meanwhile, New Zealand has become the first side to announce the squad for the same, while Ross Taylor has missed out.

ICC World T20 2021: New Zealand announces squad, Ross Taylor misses out-ayh
Christchurch, First Published Aug 10, 2021, 11:12 AM IST

The cricketing world would be witnessing the most fantastic Twenty20 cricket festival, the ICC World T20 2021, set to be held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October. Meanwhile, the build-up for the same is underway, as New Zealand has become the first to announce the squad.

On Monday, New Zealand Cricket announced the 15-member squad for the T20 extravaganza. The first thing about the squad was three notable omissions: Colin de Grandhomme, Finn Allen and Ross Taylor, while Todd Astle was the most inexperienced of the lads, as the 34-year-old has just played four T20Is.

Meanwhile, pacer Adam Milne was named as an injury backup. The same squad is expected to play in India for three T20Is, following the conclusion of the WT20.

ALSO READ: Oman invites Mumbai to play limited-overs matches ahead of ICC World T20 2021

ICC World T20 2021: New Zealand announces squad, Ross Taylor misses out-ayh

Among the four primary pacers for NZ, Kyle Jamieson, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee and Trent Boult, except for Southee, the other three would get considerable time to train in the gulf during the Indian Premier League 2021 ahead of the event. Also, Kane Williamson and Jimmy Neesham would have stints in the IPL before the WT20.

Glenn Phillips and Tim Seifert are the only two options among the wicketkeepers, while Devon Conway could be called up if needed. The Kiwis are placed in Group 2, along with Afghanistan, India and Pakistan. At the same time, a couple of qualifiers would join them as well, following which they would fly to India for the T20Is and a two-Test series, while the squad for the latter would be announced within a month.

NZ squad for WT20: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee and Adam Milne (injury backup)

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitise, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios