Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

WhatsApp adds disappearing photos feature after a single viewing; how to enable it

The feature is known as ‘View Once’ and is similar to how Instagram’s expiring media feature works.
 

WhatsApp adds disappearing photos feature after a single viewing; how to enable it-dnm
Author
New Delhi, First Published Aug 4, 2021, 10:33 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

WhatsApp is adding disappearing photo messages to its app. Called “view once” photos, the new feature allows users to send photos and videos in chats that can only be viewed a single time before disappearing.

When you send a photo using this feature, then it will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. But, you will have to select View Once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.

WhatsApp has confirmed that any photo or video you send using the ‘View Once’ feature will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once you send a View Once photo or video, WhatsApp won’t be able to show it again.

The messaging app won’t allow you to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with View Once media feature. You can only see if a recipient has opened a View Once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.

How to send View Once media on WhatsApp?

Step 1: Open WhatsApp and tap on the attachment icon.

Step 2: Then, go to Gallery and select the photo or video you want to send to your contact.

Step 3: After selecting it, you will see a clock-like icon in the ‘Add a caption’ bar, just tap on it to enable the View Once feature. Once you enable it, the app will show a message saying “Photo set to View Once.” You can then send disappearing photos to your friends and family members.

The company notes that the new feature could be helpful for an array of needs that definitely aren’t sending nudes, like sharing a photo of some clothes you tried on or giving someone your Wi-Fi password. In the fine print, the company would like to remind you that just because the photos or video will vanish, that doesn’t prevent someone from taking a screenshot (and you won’t know if they do).

The Facebook-owned firm additionally says that in the event you don’t open the picture or video inside 14 days of it being dispatched, the media will expire from the chat. Nevertheless, one will be capable of restoring the ‘View as soon as media’ from backup if the message stays unread at the time of backup. If the picture or video has already been opened, the media won’t be included within the backup and may not be restored.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitize, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona  

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios