Bengaluru: Deputy Speaker Krishna Reddy announced on Monday (July 29) that election to the post of Karnataka Assembly Speaker will be held on July 31. Speaker Ramesh Kumar tendered his resignation after chief minister BS Yediyurappa won the floor test in the Assembly on Monday.

Reddy took charge as the temporary Speaker, following the development. He announced that nomination for the Speaker's post can be submitted till 12 pm tomorrow (July 28).

The House was adjourned till 11 am on Wednesday (July 31). The election for the Speaker's post will be held then.

While three names of BJP leaders are doing the rounds for the post of Speaker, there were also reports of leaders approaching MLA Suresh Kumar to take up the position.

According to Suvarna News, it is also said that Kumar is not interested in taking up the post. He reportedly said that he cannot do justice to the post.

Former chief minister Jagadish Shettar is another probable candidate. He was the Speaker during Yediyurappa's tenure as chief minister in 2008. But Shettar resigned from his post in 2009 as he was inducted into Yediyurappa's Cabinet as minister for rural development and panchayat raj.

While his name is being considered, the sources have not confirmed the news yet.

KG Bopaiah is another candidate who is likely to file his nomination. After Shettar resigned from the Speaker's post in 2009, Bopaiah was appointed as the Speaker. He represents Virajpet constituency.

Bopaiah was chosen as the pro tem speaker by the governor of Karnataka for the floor test held on May 19, 2018, when Yediyurappa had to prove majority, but failed to do so. It resulted in HD Kumaraswamy becoming the chief minister with the help of the Congress. He proved his majority on May 23, 2018.