Bengaluru: Six Congress and three JD(S) MLAs who were expelled from the party recently have appealed to the Supreme Court against former speaker Ramesh Kumar's order of disqualifying them from contesting election till the term of 15th Karnataka Legislative Assembly is completed.

Pratap Gouda Patil, BC Patil, S Hebbar, ST Somasekhar, Byrathi Basavaraj, Muniratna from Congress; AH Vishwanath, Gopalaiah, Narayana Gowda from JD(S)  approached the Supreme Court today.

Asianet Newsable has access to the documents that were submitted to the Supreme Court, by the rebel MLAs.

According to Ramesh Kumar's order these MLAs cannot contest elections till 2023. A few other rebel MLAs had already filed an application challenging the order with the Supreme Court. So far, 14 rebel MLAs approached the apex court in this regard.

The coalition government in the leadership of HD Kumaraswamy lost the trust vote on July 24, as the 17 MLAs decided to stay away from the Assembly. Following this, speaker Ramesh Kumar, before resigning ordered the disqualification of all 17 MLAs who had rebelled against Congress and JD(S).

Meanwhile, Yediyurappa won the trust vote and retained his position as the chief minister. He was sworn in as the chief minister on July 26. Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri was elected as the new Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly on July 31.

Meanwhile, Congress and JD(S) have expelled the 17 rebel MLAs from their respective parties.