The West Bengal Police on Wednesday (December 9) registered FIRs against senior BJP leaders Kailash Vijayvargiya, Tejasvi Surya, Dilip Ghosh on the allegation that they encouraged violence during the party's "Uttarkanya Abhiyan" march in Siliguri on December 7.

A suo moto case was registered at the New Jalpaiguri police station of Siliguri Metropolitan Police against BJP national general secretary and state observer Kailash Vijayvargiya, MP and BJP Yuva Morcha president Tejasvi Surya, state BJP chief Dilip Ghosh.

Also read: Matuas are citizens of our country, there will be no ARC-NPR in West Bengal: Mamata Banerjee

The police alleged that those charged encouraged the party workers to create violence, break law and order, clash with police and damage government properties.

Workers of the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) and BJP and leaders fought a pitched battle with police after they were prevented from moving past the barricades at two points near the branch secretariat. 

The police later issued a statement alleging that "serious acts of violence" were committed at the Siliguri protest and they used water cannons and fired several rounds of tear gas shells to disperse the crowd.

Also read: JP Nadda arrives in Kolkata, to take part in door-to-door campaign

One BJP party worker, named Ulen Roy, succumbed to injuries caused by pellets fired from shotgun, according to a postmortem report. The West Bengal police claimed that the force did not use shotguns and alleged that "armed persons were brought and they fired from firearms."

Officers of the New Jalpaiguri police station, where the FIRs were lodged against the BJP leaders did not clarify the sections invoked against the leaders.