The Bharatiya Janata Party on Friday (November 13) announced a new team of states’ in-charge, with an apparent focus on states where elections are due.

The BJP has appointed Kailash Vijayvargiya as in-charge of West Bengal. Arvind Menon and Amit Malviya have been appointed as sah-prabharis of West Bengal. The appointments were made by BJP chief JP Nadda.

Also read: Four beaten to death by man in West Bengal

Some of the other key appointments include - Dr Sukanta Majumdar, MP, Balurghat as in-charge, of Sikkim. Dr Anupam Hazra, National Secretary has been appointed co-in-charge of Bihar. Subhas Sarkar, MP, Bankura has been appointed as co-in-charge of Jharkhand. Radha Mohan Singh has been appointed in-charge of Uttar Pradesh.

Assembly elections in the state of West Bengal are scheduled to take place in 2021. The BJP is looking forward to unseat the Mamata Banerjee-led government.

Also read: TMC worker shot dead in West Bengal

The appointments in West Bengal are the most critical as the state is headed for an Assembly election in 2021. While the BJP emerged victorious in Bihar, where it bagged 74 seats and regained power along with Janata Dal (United) under the umbrella of National Democratic Alliance (NDA), the party is locked in a bitter battle with the Trinamool Congress Party (TMC) in West Bengal.