The counting of votes for 243 assembly constituencies in Bihar is under way. The closely fought elections saw incumbent Nitish Kumar, who is heading the JD(U)-BJP combine, take on the Tejashwi Yadav-led Mahagathbandhan comprising RJD, Congress and Left Parties.

The early trends indicate the Mahagatbandhan has a lead as it is showing leads in 111 seats. While NDA is showing leads in 77 seats as of 9 am. The majority mark is 122.

It's important to remember that only postal ballots are being counted right now.

Several exit polls have predicted victory for the RJD-led Grand Alliance which also comprises the Congress and Left.

The ruling NDA comprises Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) and the BJP. The two parties have been ruling the state since 2005, barring a four-year period of 2013-17.