Bengaluru: A joint select committee of Karnataka legislators, which was tasked to finalise more wards to the city have added 45 more wards under the civic body on Tuesday.

This takes the total number of wards in Bengaluru from 198 to 243.

Earlier it was speculated that the city will have 225 wards, to include some of the areas, which are currently outside BBMP limits, for the purpose of better governance.

A huge disparity in the area and population among the 198 wards called from the delimitation exercise.

A draft delimitation plan, which was released in March, within the existing area of BBMP and keeping the number of wards the same, was opposed by the Opposition and the public.

Also read: Karnataka: Refusing to get tested for COVID-19 may land you in jail

Now, the Delimitation Commission, headed by BBMP Commissioner Manjunath Prasad, will decide on further how to divide the city to 243 wards.

The Delimitation Commission will have Bengaluru Urban Deputy Commissioner, BDA (Bangalore Development Authority) Chairman and BBMP Special Commissioner Revenue (all IAS officers) as its members.

Meanwhile, there are reports that Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa has approved creating 243 wards in the state capital based on numerology.

The number 243 totals up to nine, which is considered to be a lucky number.