Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

High Command to approve Cabinet list by 11 am, new ministers to take oath at 2:15 pm: Karnataka CM Bommai

The highly anticipated Cabinet expansion under CM Basavaraj Bommai will take place today at 2:15 pm. The CM informed reporters that by 11 or 11.30 am, the official list will be sent by high command. The CM was told by central leaders that they will give a nod for the oath-taking of new ministers by the first half of the day. Eight lawmakers have received a call from the CM so far.

High Command to approve Cabinet list by 11 am, new ministers to take oath at 2:15 pm: Karnataka CM Bommai-ycb
Bengaluru, First Published Aug 4, 2021, 10:44 AM IST

In a late-night development, the central high command has instructed Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai to arrange for a swearing-in ceremony of new ministers, however, they are yet to approve the list. The CM addressing the press today said that by 11 or 11.30 am, an official list will be approved and all details will be shared in Raj Bhavan.

The CM left Delhi in an early morning flight at 6.10 am and reached Bengaluru International Airport at 8.50 pm.

CM was accompanied by BJP general secretary and Karnataka Incharge Arun Singh and BJP state President Nalin Kumar Kateel.

CM had earlier hinted that the Cabinet expansion will happen in two stages. This move is to address the discontentment from ministerial aspirants who miss the chance. Such leaders will be promised posts in the second round.

Meanwhile, sources say that the Cabinet size will be a maximum of 24 berths and eight aspirants have reportedly received calls from CM to come to Raj Bhavan.

The leaders who have received calls are Shivamogga Assembly MLA KS Eshwarappa, Bilagi MLA Murugesh Nirani, Navalgund MLA Shankarpatil Munekoppa, migrant leaders K Sudhakar from Chikkaballapur and Hirekerur MLA BC Patil have been asked to come to the swearing-in function.

ST Somashekhar from Yeshwantpur and MLC MTB Nagaraja have also reportedly received calls from CM.

There is no clarity on the post of Deputy CM, however, leaders like R Ashoka from Padmanabhanagar and CN Ashwath Narayan from Malleshwaram are competing.

It is said that B Sriramulu MLA from Molekalmuru is lobbying for the DyCM post under Valmiki quota and he too has reportedly received a call from CM Bommai to come to the swearing-in ceremony.

Rebels issue resignation threat:

Anand Mamani, a three-time MLA from Savadatti has openly said that if his name does not figure in the list he would quit. The leader has contended the voters want to see him as a minister and in case the party assures that he would be accommodated in the next Cabinet expansion, he would reconsider his decision.

Similarly, Nehru Olekar from Haveri aslo expressed disappointment as he did not receive any calls. The MLA stressed that he was sure that Bommai will not make him minister as he too is from the same district. He says he will adopt a wait and watch policy before his next political move.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitize, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona  

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios