The Rajasthan High Court has sent notices to the six rebel BSP MLAs who merged with Congress and to Assembly Speaker CP Joshi. BJP MLA Madan Dilawar, and the BSP had filed a petition in the high court opposing the act of 6 of their MLAs joining the Congress. The high court has also sent a notice to the Speaker and six MLAs, seeking a reply by August 11. Rajasthan BSP president Bhagwan Singh Baba said that the party has decided to teach the six “cheating” MLAs and the Congress a lesson. The Speaker, moving the Supreme Court challenged the Rajasthan high court's decision on July 24 to “maintain status quo”.

The BSP may also present a petition to Speaker of the Legislative Assembly CP Joshi on Thursday to terminate the membership of these MLAs. The petition was to be presented only on Wednesday. Due to Speaker Joshi's birthday on Wednesday, he was absent from his office, so the petition was filed on Thursday.

Bhagwan Singh Baba said, we appealed to the Election Commission and the Speaker even during the Rajya Sabha elections. The application was rejected by the Election Commission as it was not under its jurisdiction. We will now tell the Speaker that the merger of MLAs with the Congress is unconstitutional. 

Bhagwan Singh Baba said that a campaign will also be organised against these MLAs at the organisational level. It is wrong for the MLAs to say that they joined the Congress for the development of their Assembly segment. Our question is, were they unaware of the situation while contesting elections?

The 6 BSP MLA who joined Congress

Lakhan Singh (Karauli), Rajendra Singh Gudha (Udaipurwati), Deepchand Khedia (Kishangarh Bass), Jogendra Singh Awana (Nadbai), Sandeep Kumar (Tijara) and Wajib Ali (Nagar Bharatpur). All of them had joined the Congress.