Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu suspends 8 MPs for a week for creating ruckus over Farm Bills

 Rajya Sabha chairman, M Venkaiah Naidu, also rejected the no-confidence motion of opposition MPs against deputy chairman Harivansh.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu suspends 8 MPs for a week for creating ruckus over Farm Bills-dnm
New Delhi, First Published Sep 21, 2020, 10:42 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The ruckus in the Rajya Sabha that ensued on Sunday saw Chairman Venkaiah Naidu on Monday suspending 8 MPs for a week on charges of misconduct. He directed the marshals to escort TMC MP Derek O'Brien and others out of the house over unruly behaviour after which further protests broke out.

Apart from O’Brien, TMC’s Dola Sen, Sanjay Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Congress leaders Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Syed Nasir Hussain and KK Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem of the CPI(M) were among those who were suspended for “bringing disrepute to the House”.

"This is not the way," Venkaiah Naidu said, adding that the events witnessed tarnished the image of Parliament. "Throwing papers and rule-book is not the way. I suggest the members introspect". He continued, "If Marshals were not called on time, what would have happened? The only way is to discuss and debate."

The Rajya Sabha on Sunday passed the two contentious farm bills by voice vote as the House witnessed chaotic scenes after some slogan-shouting opposition members lead by the Trinamool Congress climbed on to the chairperson’s podium demanding a discussion.

Also read:  Opposition trying to mislead farmers by creating confusion over MSP, says Rajnath Singh

The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020, was passed by the upper house. The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill, 2020, part of the broader farm liberalisation plan, could not be taken up.

The Opposition also took to sloganeering as the Bill was passed. 12 opposition parties gave a notice for a no-confidence against Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman over the manner in which the bills were passed in the House after he overruled their pleas for an adjournment of the proceedings.

Soon after opposition parties gave the notice, several Union ministers rushed to the residence of Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu and discussed with him the entire episode of unruly behaviour and ruckus, blaming the Opposition MPs.

The House was adjourned till 10am as opposition members of Parliament started protesting and shouting slogans after the MPs were suspended.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios