Bengaluru: The campaigning for the November 3 bypolls to two assembly seats in Karnataka ended on Sunday.

A total of 31 candidates are in the fray for the bypolls in RR Nagar in Bengaluru and Shira in Tumakuru district.

The bypoll in Shira was necessitated following the death of JD(S) legislator B Sathyanarayana in August this year, while the RR Nagar seat fell vacant after the disqualification of the-then Congress MLA N Munirathna under the anti-defection law last year.

Meanwhile, the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) is tightening the security in the city and has deployed several officers and security forces for RR Nagar constituency.

40 flying squads, 9 check posts, 3 Coys, 19 KSRP, 20 CAR, 2563 police officers have been deployed for security in and around the polling booths.

Also read: Karnataka woman, two children found dead in Dublin

A total of 678 booths have been set up in 141 locations in the constituency. Liquor has been banned from 5:00pm of November 1 to 12:00am of November 3.

Meanwhile, those who have been infected by the coronavirus and those suspected to be infected will be allowed to cast their vote between 5pm and 6pm on November 3 for the bypolls to Rajarajeshwarinagar Assembly constituency.

According to BBMP Commissioner N Manjunath Prasad, voting arrangements for COVID-19 suspects and patients have been made at the 678 polling stations in the constituency.