Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Fatorda, Goa Election 2022 Result LIVE: Vijai Sardesai maintains winning streak

Goa Forward Party's (GFP) Vijai Sardesai has emerged victorious in the Fatorda assembly constituency.

Fatorda Goa Election 2022 Result LIVE update candidates winner runner up
Fatorda, First Published Mar 10, 2022, 6:01 AM IST

Goa Forward Party's (GFP) and former deputy Chief Minister Vijai Sardesai has emerged victorious in the Fatorda assembly constituency. With a total of 11063 votes, Sardesai left behind BJP's Damodar Gajanan Naik with a winning margin of over 600 votes. With this, the veteran leader has won the Fatorda seat for four consecutive terms/

Click here for latest updates on Goa Election 2022 Result LIVE

Goa Election Result 2022: Check out the winning candidate list constituency wise

No. of candidates that contested: 6

Adv. Valerie Fernandes - Revolutionary Goans Party
Damu G. Naik - BJP
Michael Ferns - Independent
Sandesh Teleikar - AAP
Seoula Vas - AITC

Election issues in 2022:

Goa Forward Party promises a whole new infrastructure and several other services. Fatorda constituency's core issue remains waste management and pollution. GFP has promised a lake Project, stray dog rehabilitation, garbage stations, and sustainable mining. Better schools and the empowerment of youth, women, and farmers also remain key focus areas.

Exit Polls prediction:

Exit polls had indicated that the coastal state might be heading for another hung assembly, much like the cliffhanger of 2017. Data predicted both BJP and the Congress would end up with around 15-18 seats each in the 40-member house. The kingmaker is likely to be Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress, which might win 2-4 seats.

The vote share in 2017:

In the 2017 Goa Assembly elections, Vijai Sardesai of the GFP defeated Damu G Naik of the BJP by a margin of 1,334 votes (5.79 per cent) of the total votes cast for the seat. In 2017, GFP received 45.65 per cent of the vote in this seat.

Goa Election 2022 voter turnout: 

The estimated voter turnout in this seat in the Goa Election 2022 was 76.69 per cent. In 2017, this seat had a turnout of 79.54 per cent.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios