Bengaluru: While India awaits the Lok Sabha election results, a survey by News18-IPSOS gave a brief insight into the probable outcome of the results. According to this survey, Bangalore Central's BJP candidate PC Mohan is likely to win and retain the Bengaluru Central Lok Sabha seat.

PC Mohan has won in the constituency twice consecutively; 2009 and 2014 and the odds reportedly seem to be in his favour again.

Bengaluru Central is one of the crucial constituencies in Bengaluru. The constituency was formed as a result of delimitation in 2008. Eight Assembly seats including Sarvajnanagar, CV Raman Nagar, Shivajinagar, Shanti Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, Rajaji Nagar, Chamarajapet and Mahadevapura form this Lok Sabha constituency.

BJP's PC Mohan and Congress's Rizwan Arshad have been arch-rivals in the contest for the Bengaluru Central seat since the previous election in 2014.

Preparation for counting day

For Bengaluru North Lok Sabha seat, the EVMs and VVPATs are being guarded at Mount Carmel College on Palace Road. For Bengaluru Central seat, the machines are stored at St Joseph's Indian School, Vittal Mallya Road, and for Bengaluru South Lok Sabha seat the machines are housed at SSMRV college, Jayanagar 4th T Block.

Key battles:

For Bengaluru North seat, Karnataka agriculture minister and Congress candidate Krishna Byre Gowda is up against Union minister and BJP leader DV Sadananda Gowda.

For the Bengaluru Central seat, the fight is between Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad and BJP's PC Mohan. For the Bengaluru South seat, Congress stalwart BK Hariprasad and BJP's young gun Tejasvi Surya have locked horns.

(Log on to Asianet Newsable for live updates on Bengaluru constituency results on counting day – May 23)