Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

ODI World Cup 2023: New Zealand announce squad for mega event; a look at surprises and omissions

New Zealand Cricket has revealed its squad for the upcoming ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 in India, making some surprising selections while leaving out established names.

Cricket ODI World Cup 2023: New Zealand announce squad for mega event; a look at surprises and omissions osf
First Published Sep 11, 2023, 11:01 AM IST

New Zealand's World Cup squad for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 in India sees a few notable changes. Will Young has been favored over Finn Allen in the 15-man roster. Additionally, pacers Kyle Jamieson and Adam Milne, who were both unavailable, have not made the squad. Surprisingly, Trent Boult and James Neesham, who don't have central contracts, have secured their places in the team.favoured

The pace department will consist of Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, and Matt Henry, along with the all-round abilities of Daryl Mitchell and Neesham. Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner will handle the specialist spin-bowling duties. Unfortunately, spin-bowling all-rounder Michael Bracewell couldn't be considered due to a right Achilles injury, which has ruled him out for the next six months, thereby opening the door for Neesham's inclusion.

Head coach Gary Stead explained the selection process, saying, "We felt that Youngy was the right guy to go with. We carefully analyzed the potential gameplan for India, the playing venues, and the recent form of the two players."

Kane Williamson, recovering from an ACL injury, will continue to lead the team, though his return date remains uncertain. Vice-captain Tom Latham will continue in his role until Williamson is ready to return.

This World Cup marks the fourth appearance for Williamson and Southee, while Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, and Glenn Phillips make their debut in an ODI World Cup squad. Rachin Ravindra and Will Young are also part of their first senior World Cup squad.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (vc,wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023, India vs Pakistan: What happens if the reserve day also gets washed out due to rain?

Coach Stead expressed his excitement, saying, "It's always a special time to name a tournament team, and I'd like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. Representing your country at a World Cup is a great honor."

He acknowledged the difficulty in making the squad, stating, "As with any squad named for an ICC tournament, there have been some tough decisions, and there will be disappointed players. Our main goal was to find the right balance for the squad and ensure we are well-equipped for what promises to be a highly competitive tournament."

All teams have until September 28 to finalise their 15-player squads, and any changes after this deadline will require approval from the ICC.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023, India vs Pakistan: Meme fest explodes as rain disrupts play once again

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios