Asianet News English

BCCI announces 16-man India Test squad for New Zealand series

India will play two Tests against New Zealand. BCCI named a 16-man Test squad led by Virat Kohli. The game is from February 21 in Wellington

BCCI announces India Test squad for New Zealand series
Bengaluru, First Published Feb 4, 2020, 9:57 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday (February 4) announced the India Test squad for the two-match series against New Zealand. The opening Test starts on February 21 in Wellington.

Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of both ODI and Test series. Mayank Agarwal has replaced Rohit in the 50-over line-up.

Also read: India penalised after historic 5-0 series win

Opening batsman Prithvi Shaw made a comeback to the Test arena while paceman Navdeep Saini got a call-up. Saini is uncapped in the five-day format.

The squad, led by Virat Kohli, has five pacemen and two special spinners in Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. There was no place for Kuldeep Yadav. Ishant Sharma has to pass fitness test.

Also read: Rohit Sharma ruled out of New Zealand tour

In a media advisory, BCCI said Rohit has a left calf muscle strain. “Vice-captain Rohit Sharma sustained a left calf muscle strain during the fifth T20I against New Zealand at Tauranga on Sunday (February 2). He underwent an MRI scan in Hamilton on Monday. The opening batsman has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI and the Test series and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for further management of his injury,” the Indian cricket board said.
“The All-India Senior Selection Committee have named Mayank Agarwal in the ODI squad as Rohit’s replacement. The committee also named the Test squad for the two-match Test series,” it added.

India whitewashed New Zealand 5-0 in the T20Is. Next, they play three ODIs followed by two Tests.

India’s Test squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).

Test fixtures (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios