Bengaluru: The much-awaited cabinet expansion would take place on Wednesday with the induction of seven to eight ministers, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa said.

Yediyurappa also indicated one minister might be dropped in the rejig, the third of the 17-month old ministry. "New ministers will take oath at the Raj Bhavan at around 3.50 pm Wednesday, the list of seven or eight ministers who will be inducted will be released in due course," he told reporters in Bengaluru.

Asked will anyone be dropped from the 27-member ministry as there were only seven vacant berths, he said: "It is being discussed, we will see, we may have to drop someone, will think about it and make a decision... there is no confusion."

According to the Chief Minister office, the new ministers will take oath at Raj Bhavan on Wednesday at around 3.50 pm ahead of Makara Sankranti festival.

The seven MLAs and MLCs to be inducted into the Cabinet are turncoat leader MLC MTB Nagaraj, MLC R Shankar, MLC CP Yogeshwar, MLA Umesh Katti, MLA Murugesh Nirani and MLA S Angara, said Yediyurappa.

Meanwhile, Rajarajeshwari MLA Muniratna has failed to make the cut as the Central leaders have missed his name in the list. 

On Sunday, Yediyurappa met BJP National President JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and party general secretary in-charge for the state Arun Singh to discuss the cabinet expansion and the upcoming bypolls to the Basavakalyana and Maski Assembly seats and the Belagavi Parliamentary seat.

The state, which can have a total of 34 ministers, has 27 now. Besides members representing different factions and the old guard in the party, the Chief Minister also has to accommodate some of those who entered the Assembly through recent bypolls.

This would be the third expansion of the cabinet since Yediyurappa assumed charge in July 2019 after the collapse of the Congress-JDS government in the wake of revolt by 17 MLAs of the coalition partners.