Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Mandi Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: BJP's Kangana Ranaut nears landslide win

Mandi is one of the Lok Sabha constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. The state has 4 parliamentary seats. The Mandi seat comprises 17 Assembly segments including Bharmour, Lahaul and Spiti, Manali, Kullu, Banjar, Anni, Karsog, Sundernagar, Nachan, Seraj, Darang, Jogindernagar, Mandi, Balh, Sarkaghat, Rampur, Kinnaur.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Himachal Pradesh Mandi constituency profile, past winners, vote share and more gcw
First Published Apr 11, 2024, 12:01 PM IST

Mandi, situated in Himachal Pradesh, became notable in the General Elections due to Bollywood actor Kangana Ranaut's political debut as a candidate in the Lok Sabha elections 2024.  BJP’s candidate Kangana Ranaut was running for the hot seat against Congress’ Vikramaditya Singh, heir of the Rampur royal family and son of the late Virbhadra Singh, a six-time Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Congress leader and candidate from Mandi Lok Sabha seat Vikramaditya Singh said, "I thank the public of Mandi who voted for me in large numbers….I congratulate BJP candidate Kangana Ranaut for winning Mandi Lok Sabha seat. The arrival of PM Modi, Yogi Adityanath and Nitin Gadkari had an impact on polls. A clear-cut mandate(Congress winning 4 assembly by-poll seats)has been given by the people of Himachal Pradesh against attempts to disrupt the Congress government by BJP party."

Who were the main contenders this year?

This year, Bollywood star Kangana Ranaut, is making her electoral debut as the BJP candidate from the Mandi Lok Sabha constituency.  Following the announcement of Ranaut's candidature, Pratibha Singh, the Congress state president and current Member of Parliament for the Mandi constituency, who had previously withdrawn from the contest, declared that she would follow the directions of the Congress high command.

2019 election results

 In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Ram Swaroop Sharma from BJP won the seat with a margin of 405,459 votes. Ram Swaroop Sharma was polled 647,189 votes with a vote share of 69.00 % and defeated Aashray Sharma from INC who got 241,730 votes (25.63 %).

2014 election results

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Ram Swaroop Sharma from BJP won the seat and was polled 362,824 votes with a vote share of 49.94%. INC candidate Pratibha Singh got 322,968 votes (44.46 %) and was the runner-up.Ram Swaroop Sharma defeated Pratibha Singh by a margin of 39,856 votes.

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios