New Delhi: The 13th edition of the I-League football tournament was officially launched at a glittering ceremony in the National Capital on Thursday (November 21).

The league will kick off on November 30 with former champions Mohun Bagan FC and Aizawl FC locking horns at the Rajiv Gandhi stadium in Aizawl, Mizoram.

Also read: I-League to commence on November 30

The league will feature 11 teams this season, with the induction of TRAU FC, winners of the second division last season.

Praful Patel, president, All India Football Federation (AIFF), in his statement, said, “We are very happy to welcome TRAU FC to the 13th edition of the Hero I-League. The pan India presence has been the unique feature of the league in the last few editions, and is a true testimony to the manner it has played a critical role in spreading the game to all corners of the country.”

In a first, fans from across the country this season will witness two local derbies — the legendary Kolkata derby between East Bengal and Mohun Bagan, and the Imphal derby featuring Neroca FC and TRAU FC.

The I-League has witnessed many a fairy-tale in recent years with underdogs such as Aizawl FC, Minerva Punjab FC (now Punjab FC) and Chennai City FC winning the previous three editions. The 12th edition debutants Real Kashmir also created a flutter and were the title contenders at one-point.

The 13th edition of I-League 2019-20 will be broadcast live exclusively on DSPORT. The prize money for the top four teams will be as follows:

Winners — Rs 1 crore

Runners up — Rs 60 lakh

Third place — Rs. 40 lakh

Fourth place — Rs 25 lakh

The 11 teams from eight states and one union territory at the 13th I-League are – Defending champions Chennai City FC (Chennai), Punjab FC (Punjab), Aizawl FC (Mizoram), NEROCA FC (Manipur), TRAU FC (Manipur), Mohun Bagan and Quess East Bengal (West Bengal), Gokulam Kerala FC (Kerala), Churchill Brothers FC Goa (Goa), Indian Arrows (Goa), Chennai City FC (Tamil Nadu), and Real Kashmir FC (Kashmir).