Bengaluru: With the state election commission announcing the enforcement of the model code of conduct from November 11 (Monday) in 15 Karnataka Legislative Assembly constituencies, all eyes are the Supreme Court’s verdict on the petitions of 17 disqualified MLAs on November 13.

Karnataka chief electoral officer Sanjeev Kumar addressed the media and said that the model code of conduct would come into effect from Monday (November 11) only in 15 constituencies where elections are scheduled to take place and not in the entire district. 

The process of filing of nominations will commence from November 11 (Monday) and the last day for filing nominations is November 18.

The voting will take place on December 5 and the counting will take place on December 9.

Earlier, the EC had postponed the bypolls which were scheduled on October 21 to December 5 in view of the pending petitions of 17 disqualified MLAs in the Supreme Court. Before the postponement of elections, 29 nominations had been received and all their nominations are valid, said Sanjeev Kumar. 

The chief electoral officer said, “Though the electoral notification was issued by the EC on September 27, the enforcement of the model code of conduct was suspended till November 10 since it would adversely impact the development programs of the government, particularly for the poor.” 

Elections to two of the 17 constituencies — Maski in Raichur district and RR Nagar in Bengaluru have been withheld as separate election cases related to them are pending in the Karnataka high court.

The constituencies that will be going for bypolls are Athani, Kagwad, Gokak in Belagavi district, Yellapur (Uttara Karnataka), Hirekerur, Ranibennur  in Haveri, Vijayanagara (Ballari), Chikballapur, KR Pura, Yeshwanthpura, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagar in Bengaluru, Hosakote (Bengaluru Rural), KR Pet (Mandya), and Hunsur (Mysuru).   

The results of the by-elections will play a crucial role in stabilising or destabilising the BJP government.